When to Sell a Stock?

Discussion in 'Investing' started by ddebrazza, Jun 23, 2021.

1. ddebrazza

ddebrazza Active Member

My goal is to make money. I am relatively young, mid-30's but I do not have a lot of money to start with, $2,500 split between stocks and cryptoassets. (70/30 currently, I would like to get it closer to 85/10/5 with the 5% being Gold). I am new to investing, having about 1 month of really paying attention and researching.

So my question, in regards to stocks, when you buy a stock, do you generally purchase it with the plan to hold it and just collect and compile stocks over time or do you typically try to "buy low, sell high," then move onto the next stocks you feel are in that same "buy low, sell high," pattern?

What is the average time you hold stocks?
    Do you set a limit where if a stock increases by X %, then you sell and cash out?

Example, I bought WISH at 11.07, just 10 shares nothing crazy. The stock almost immediately shot up to 13.00 and has bounced around 13-14$ the last couple days. Right now it is a 26$ profit or a total return of 23%. I do not know much about WISH. I mainly bought it based on it's IPO price of 24.00$ back in Dec. 2020 and with the bounce-back of the economy I could see them doing well through the EOY, It had a high "Buy," rating on several websites, and it was being actively discussed on Reddit. WISH, at 15$, buy? hold? sell?

Do you invest in crypto? Do you have a similar "Exit Strategy,"?

When I buy Gold that would be with the intention of holding until I retire or in a time of need.

Thank you for the feedback

2. anotherdevilsadvocate

anotherdevilsadvocate Well-Known Member

Let's take it from "buy low, sell high". With the understanding that in a bull market, things can keep going higher. So when to "sell high"?

When you sell, you will have cash that you will need to find a use for.