What are the odds of being a successful Retail trader in the long run?

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by Curbdog, Dec 18, 2021.

?

What are the odds of being a successful Retail trader in the long run?

1. 100% chance - just keep at it

25.0%
  2. 75% chance - maybe if you have a Finance background

12.5%
  3. 50% chance - you will break even forever

12.5%
  4. 25% chance - it really is rigged against the little guy

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. 5% change - just do it for fun if you like to but you will lose in the end

37.5%
  6. 0%

12.5%
  1. Curbdog

Curbdog New Member

I have been trading for several years and do my best to always continually improve my techniques - but I am not very successful as a trader. I seem to lose money at this point. I keep wondering if I just keep learning for a few more years and keep at it that one day there will a light at the end of the tunnel and I am profitable and doing really well from trading alone.

My background has nothing to do with Finance. I studied music. For trading I just learn from books and online and I keep learning diligently but I still wonder if it is even worth it. Often the whole system of the stock markets feels completely rigged against me.

What are my chances of becoming successful and making enough money from trading to make it my way of life and not having another job? I have heard of people struggling the first several years and then they finally reach a point that they are profitable and have strong skills to weather any market.

What are the odds??? Thank you!

2. StockJock-e

StockJock-e Brew Master
    Staff Member

Over the long run most funds find it hard to beat the S&P.

Its all about how long you are in the market.

Sure, there will always be those traders that went all in one GME and TSLA calls, then walked away with millions, but what you don't hear about are the other 1000 that lost their ass trying to do the same thing.

TomB16 likes this.
  3. anotherdevilsadvocate