TAX QUESTION

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by DollarDogs, Jul 18, 2020.

1. DollarDogs

DollarDogs Member

I've been trading pretty actively for 3 months now: buying then selling stocks in short time frames from 1 day to 1 month. Most trades I've done so far have been for gains. Three trades have been for losses totaling about $400. I'm wondering about taxation for next year. I keep reading different things online about whether I can deduct my losses or not? Also I use TD Ameritrade, and it gives you different tax id methods on sales (FIFO, LIFO, Highest Cost, Lowest Cost, Tax Efficient Loss Harvester), but I don't know what I should be doing there yet, so I just leave it at their default setting. Any advice is much appreciated, thanks.

2. 姑爺仔

姑爺仔 Active Member

Profits from.stock sales.are.a.capital gain. There is a difference between stocks held less.than a year, and longer than a year. You can deduct losses up to amount in gains.

3. DollarDogs

DollarDogs Member

Thanks! I heard losses couldn't be claimed and also heard they can but only up to $3000 fo individuals?

And over/under year difference is over they get taxed as capital gains, under taxed as income, or is that not so?

4. Jwalker

Jwalker Active Member