Newb Mineral investor

Discussion in 'Investing' started by Kente Sharpe, May 26, 2020.

1. Kente Sharpe

Kente Sharpe New Member

Hello community!

I'm relatively new to trading, I'm no professional and do my own trading (as I'm sure some of you do to) but I'm interested in pursuing some investments in the rare earth sectors (processing/manufacturing). I know there's lots of talk about reopening America's manufacturing engine and that through an executive order the US Government is looking to reopening a bunch of mines and factories back home.

Maybe this is a newb question, but what would you all say are some good stocks for this sort of opportunity? Or, what are some metrics to consider?

2. Chip_master

Chip_master New Member

Where to start...

I would say what you're asking is pretty vague still. I recommend a little more specificity on your part. What sort of sort of industries use the materials you're interested in? Technology, construction, aerospace, automotive, etc... See how the minerals you're interested in play a part in their manufacturing. Really, just increasing your basic knowledge about the minerals themselves can really play a huge role on your portfolio, compared to someone who knows very little.

Essentially, the choices are ultimately yours here and no one wants to give advice in case it's bad. You have to take your own risks and if you ask for advice you'll have to be a bit more specific.

When looking into mining or exploratory companies, you have to consider (like any company) their earnings growth, debt-equity ratio, price-earning-ration, stability and how strong an industry is now and how stable you think the industry will be tomorrow.

Just some basics can go a long way.

Though I must ask, which minerals are you interested in and why?

Kente Sharpe likes this.
  3. Kente Sharpe

Kente Sharpe New Member

Sorry, Yes.