Newb here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Sasha, Jul 8, 2016.

1. Sasha

Sasha New Member

Hey guys,

I am new to the stocks, put in my first $1000 onto RobinHood yesterday. Went up to 1100 within 2 hours, didnt sell in time and now sitting at 952. I bought LEDS, AXU, MGT, and VRX. Even though MGT/AXU is doing great, I got screwed on LEDS. Sitting at 8.20 now, bought for 9.45

Any suggestions? Should I keep LEDS or sell it off and cut my loses?

I am a medical student, tons of debt, hoping to make a little extra income to pay off some loans with this 1k ( I know its not a lot, but its a start) I always wanted to trade on the side and would appreciate any suggestions. I was hoping to make a few hundred a week, but not sure where to start. I was recommended penny stocks but its a total crap shoot.

Thank you all!

Tiptopptrader likes this.
  2. StockJock-e

StockJock-e Brew Master
    Staff Member

Welcome!

Unfortunately its more than likely you will lose a lot of money before you make any.

If you are racking in a lot of debt, now is not the best time to try daytrading your way to riches.

Are you just buying blindly and hoping for the best?

That will be the quickest way to make your money evaporate! ;)

Somebody hates you.

Penny stocks are the most volatile and only the most experienced players can make money from that. Others that are lucky may score a win early on, but will end up giving all back soon enough.

If you are trying to trade short term, you need to know something about the charts:

http://stockaholics.net/threads/teach-me-technical-analysis.125/

T0rm3nted likes this.
  3. Tiptopptrader

Tiptopptrader Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard Sasha and welcome to the wide world of stock trading. Regarding LEDS you might get advice from Ciao that plays that a lot.Good luck on your trading

Ciao's thread
    http://stockaholics.net/threads/scalping-my-way.1465/#post-15847

4. Sasha

Sasha New Member