Most Profitable Investment Companies for Newcomers?

Discussion in 'Investing' started by Ascendant, Sep 19, 2020.

1. Ascendant

Ascendant New Member

In short, I am just getting into all this. I am still learning and not ready to invest on my own yet. In the meantime, I have about $4k in the bank that I can invest.

To add, I'm not sure how long I will have that extra money. I am working on getting a home, and working on my credit. So, I might need that money in six months from now, I may not need it for two years. I'm not sure exactly, but I can't invest that money in a way where it will be tied up without me having the option to take it out at any point.

So with that said, any suggestions?

2. TomB16

TomB16 Well-Known Member

Do I read correctly that you are looking for a low risk, high return, short term, full flexibility investment?

I will follow this thread keenly. :thumbsup:

My broker has a high interest savings account. I think the current rate is 0.25% but it might be lower. We have considerable money in HISA and I think we make only a few dollars per month from it.

Just leaving it in cash isn't the worst idea for someone in your situation.

Buying a stock with the idea of selling in six months is a bad idea, IMO.

Ascendant likes this.
  3. B Russ

B Russ Well-Known Member

Im glad u chimed in Tom. I wanted to say dont invest money short term that u will need short term. But again, i make stupid moves (according to more conservative investors too). So dont want to tell people what to do.

But yeah to OP. If that money is earmarked, just know that it can decrease in value. Especially as a new investor in the market. Its a shark tank!

To answer directly to the name of the title, the same good investments for newcomers are good for long time investors. We are all looking for the same edge. But none are without risk.

TomB16 and Ascendant like this.
  4. A55

A55 Well-Known Member

Anything you invest in could lose money. Period.