Investment Ideas

Discussion in 'Investing' started by Bridget Mallory, May 9, 2017.

1. Bridget Mallory

Bridget Mallory Active Member

Can you share some investment ideas? I'm starting to prepare myself for my retirement at 50. What could be a good investment and how do you prepare yourself for retirement?

2. tbw875

tbw875 Active Member

Hi Bridget, this all depends on your situation, what you want, and where you are in life.

I'm still pretty young (26) and have been investing for about 6 years. At this point, I have a solid foundation on an ETF or "equity traded fund." Really, this "stock" follows the overall stock market closely, and is called SPY.

Additionally, I work in tech, and still see some growth there. I buy Amazon every time I have an extra thousand dollars sitting around (that was a joke), or other tech stocks.

Others further in life might have more capital than I do (they have more cash that they can build their portfolio off of), and since they are older, would rather rely on a steady stream of dividend income. These stocks pay out quarterly, depending on how many shares you have. With enough capital, people can live off of these dividends, and hence, retirement.

I bet the smarter folk around can chime in better than I can. I'm just a Geologist that likes following the market, but I hope my viewpoint can help you identify yours. Good luck!

T0rm3nted and Jrich like this.
  3. Timbo

Timbo Active Member

Direct share plans are good for the set it and forget it folks, if you don't mind the day to day share price fluctuations. Some offer low or no fee plans and many offer DRIP "dividend reinvestment plans".. COMPUTERSHARE.COM is one and there are many others out there with a wide variety of stocks to choose from. Hope that helps.

4. Jrich

Jrich Well-Known Member

I'm 36, and I wish I would have started investing yesterday, but today is still better than tomorrow

The only advice I can give at this point, is to understand diversity