Good stocks??

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by slick8, Jul 12, 2020.

1. slick8

slick8 New Member

How do you find decent stocks? where do you look? Im new to this and trying to learn as much as I can.

Thank You

2. A55

A55 Well-Known Member

3. T0rm3nted

T0rm3nted Moderator
    Staff Member

Good stocks depend on the person, their risk aversion, age, goals, investing/trading philisophies, etc. My list for you would be different if you were a long-term investor, swing trade, or day trader. Are you retired, 10 years from retirement, have children and a family, 18 years old, etc. There are certain things you need to do for yourself to figure it all out.

Most people's goal is to comfortably retire young with enough money to get them to their death bed. Figure out your situation, and how much you need by when. You have to be realistic. "I want to retire with $20,000,000. I have $20 to my name right now and I'm 55.". Obviously unrealistic.

"I want to retire with $2M at the age of 50 and I'm currently 20. I have no kids and will have my house already paid off by then so $2M should let me live another 30 years with a reasonable lifestyle." That is far more realistic.

If your goal is to be wealthy, and you're not already on the verge of wealth, it's not realistic to expect it from the market alone. Be reasonable. Then take the safest way to get there.

Once you have your goals set, you can figure out with some very basic excel sheets or online calculators what kind of annual return you need from the market. From there, it's up to you how you get there. Do you want to look at your stocks and news by the minute? Day trade. Do you want to check it every day? Swing trade. Do you want to set it and forget it, maybe re-evaluate every 3 months? Invest long-term.

If someone were to say to you, what kidn of car should I buy? You wouldn't just recommend one. You'd ask them,
    • Well how much do you drive?
    • Do you have a family that needs to fit in the car?