ETF pricing question

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by shahgols, Nov 20, 2019.

1. shahgols

shahgols New Member

Hi all, I am totally new to investing. Want to invest into a few ETFs, but had a question. Fidelity and Vanguard both offer ETFs that track S&P 500. But Fidelity's FXAIX price is just over $108 whereas Vanguard's VFIAX price is just over $288. From a total rookie's point of view, I should be buying FXAIX, because I can have more shares for my money. So, my question is, are there any benefits to buying VFIAX over FXAIX that I am not aware of?

Also, what is the difference between VOO and VFIAX?

Many thanks in advance!!!

2. TheSmelloscope

Hey @shahgols , I'm not new to investing, but I am still a novice, so don't put too much weight on my opinion.

You should note that VFIAX is a mutual fund whereas VOO is an ETF. Mutual funds and ETFs have some similarities, but they also have important differences.

I don't think the price per share should factor into your decision. I don't have much knowledge about how to evaluate a mutual fund, but for ETFs two of the things that are most important to me are:

1) How well is it tracking its index? (eg- If an ETF claims to track the S&P 500 than you should look to see how good of a job it's done over the last 10 years). VOO has done an excellent job of tracking.

2) Management fees. You can find this by looking at the "Expense Ratio". VOO has an expense ratio of .03 which is very good.

If you would like to learn more about ETFs and how to evaluate them, a site that has been very helpful for me is etf.com . They have a plethora of great information and some learning resources: https://www.etf.com/etf-education-ce.html

Best of luck!

#2 TheSmelloscope, Nov 20, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2019
    shahgols likes this.
  3. Three Eyes

Three Eyes 2018 Stockaholics Contest Winner