Episode 2 - Specialty Commerce & Online Auctions

Discussion in 'Investing' started by TheSmelloscope, Dec 4, 2019.

1. TheSmelloscope

Note- Originally I planned to run an on-going, cumulative type of blog in the vein of @WXYZ and @TomB16 's excellent offerings. But instead I've decided to periodically post individual “episodes”. If you'd like to check out Episode 1 (about the semiconductor industry) you can read it here.

Warning- All of the information here was researched, analyzed, and written by me. And I'm an amateur with no credentials, so please don't take me too seriously.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Episode 2 - Specialty Commerce & Online Auctions

This morning I woke up and made a shopping list of a few things I needed to buy:
    1. Two large bulldozers
    2. One 1973 Fender Strat
    3. Three totaled Ford F150’s
    4. One 2’x2’ custom oil painting of my pet rabbit
    I didn’t feel like getting out of bed so I pulled out my laptop and bought a couple bulldozers from RBA, then I clicked over to Reverb to grab the Strat. I found a great deal on some fire-damaged trucks at IAA. The hardest part was the oil painting, because it meant I had to choose from dozens of strikingly handsome photos of my rabbit. But once I finally decided, it was easy to commission the artist on Etsy.

Yeah, most of it’s a lie. But the interesting parts are true.

Personally, I don’t spend enough time appreciating this bizarre and glorious world that affords wealthy people the opportunity to buy hydraulic cranes from their laptops while eating breakfast in bed.

It’s similarly amazing that an average person like me can easily commission a high-quality sculpture of my rabbit for a reasonable price while drinking coffee in my pajamas.