About Risk Management and the 2% Rule

Discussion in 'Ask any question!' started by Christopher Davis, May 15, 2020.

1. Christopher Davis

Christopher Davis New Member

Hi, newbie here, in my early stages of trading self-education.

Regarding account risk management and the 2% rule and what it actually looks like in practice. I'll just quote from one source I'm reading: "...the rule of thumb that says you should not put more than 2% of your capital at risk on any one trade. So if you have $20,000 of capital in your account, you should not put more than $400 at risk on a trade."

My question: What precisely is the "capital" part?

Let's say I have in my account $20,000 of various stocks, and $5,000 in cash. Is my capital the total $25,000? Or is it just the $5,000 cash? Do I count all my positions as my capital, the total current value of my account? Or is it just my free cash I have to invest?

Thanks much for any guidance!

2. Stoch

Stoch Well-Known Member

The capital is the account size, in this case $25000. the 2% is the risk of the trade, that would mean you could invest $500 in a trade with no stop, or you could invest the whole $25000 in 1 stock, but would need a tight stop to limit the loss to $500

3. Christopher Davis

That's what I needed to hear. When you are new and you read this rule it doesn't automatically make sense how to actually apply it. But I am going through that now. I wasn't clear if capital included your current positions, because that can fluctuate and is not "liquid" at that moment. But I get it now, I guess it does include that. Thank you.

4. The Brontide

The Brontide Active Member

I know that rule, but I do not believe in it wholeheartedly.

I prefer risk tolerance management.
    Apply the 2% rule to my 401k sure.

But I have much more risk tolerance for side investments that have the potential for higher rewards.